Meet Alumna Elysia Lock, Class of 2004

Elysia Lock

I spent from 2004 – 2009ish slowly building my studio practice and taking in as much art as I could, visiting galleries and museums in the States and Europe. I became heavily involved with the Burning Man Community and art scene in general in Chicago around 2009. In 2010 I was awarded a B.U.R.N. art grant with Yva Neal for “The Fungus Humongous,” and joined the Steering Committee. I joined B.U.R.N.’s Art Grant Committee in 2011. I was awarded a grant in 2011 for my interactive glow-drawing piece, “Drawing From Light.”

The one event of which I am the proudest is We Burn: Chicago Burning Man Art. I came up with the idea of an exhibition of art by Chicago burners, presented it to the Steering Committee of B.U.R.N., and they funded it! Both the October 2010 and April 2011 events were a success. I have truly loved curating these events, looking through other people’s art and picking things that speak to me and hopefully others.

