How to Ace an Art History Exam (Advice from an Art History Tutor)

Creative Agnes

During my time at Agnes Scott. I had the wonderful opportunity to tutor students in Art History. I decided that before I graduated, I should share with others in detail how I personally study for art history exams. Everyone has their own way that works best for them, but I find that this particular studying process mirrors the format of art history exams. I hope that the method I outlined here is as effective for you as it was for me. 

1) Gather notes together

2) Find keywords/concepts in my notes for the reduced list of works; highlight them or list them in a study guide document. If you find that your notes are inadequate on a certain work, look at someone else’s notes or re-read about that work in the book.

3) Download all of the powerpoints onto your computer. Don’t worry you can erase them after the exam…

View original post 853 more words

